top of page

Vegas to St. George to Vegas to Sydney, Australia

"Great endeavours are inseparable from great risk"

- George W. Bush

I've left this post about three weeks since I've returned so the directness of it all is gone, so this is more photos and descriptions to complete the United States visit.

Travelled from Phoenix to Vegas taking in plenty of beautiful desert landscape with stereotypical Road Runner cartoon catus plants along the side of the road, and spent a quiet evening in Vegas on the old strip and nearby areas.

20180119_194751_001

From there, it was up to beautiful St George in Utah where I spent a few days relaxing in the township and exploring the desert countryside.

20180121_151915

The Red Cliffs conservation area was beautiful and I would have liked to have had enough time and finance to explore the Zion National Park and Grand Canyon but both were running low, so I relaxed into the local sites which included Red Cliffs which have lots of amazing lava flow rock in front of limestone hills, red mountains and snow-capped peaks, and a terrific lunch.

Next day, I walked the Owen's Loop trail to plenty more great views in every direction.

20180123_125852

A three hour trip back to Vegas took me through some amazing mountain ranges.

20180124_172511

Back in Vegas, I had a terrific meal and spent a few days taking in the calmer elements of the city.

20180126_103249

Some relaxing and some work before flying to Los Angeles.

I hadn't organised to spend any time in LA as, while there are some places I like in it, I haven't found that city to fit me very well. So it was a few hours at the airport then a long flight home to Sydney, Australia.

Thanks for reading!


bottom of page