top of page

DC to NYC to DC

“None of us alone can save the nation or world. But each of us can make a positive difference if we commit ourselves to do so.” -- Cornel West

Alright, let's get New York and Washington DC written and done. So many pictures and things to tell.

This morning, it had been snowing. I donned the jacket, favourite scarf and gloves, and walked to the Arlington National Cemetery, visually known for it’s striking amount of soldier’s tombstones.

20171230_110800

The tomb of the unknown soldier is a place I’ve wanted to be since I saw a video of it years ago, amazing.

20171230_112413

Then I walked back to the Lincoln memorial and sat in one of my favourite places in the whole world to sit, between the columns stage-right with my legs hanging over the edge, to this view..

20171230_122001

I don’t know why this particular spot is so calming and peaceful to me, but I absolutely love sitting here. An equivalent place on the other side of the world is on the upper balcony of the pub at the small town of Cann River, Australia looking out over the bushland with a beer, utterly peaceful while the sun goes down and the town literally shuts down for the night. The reflecting pool was frozen and it was amazing to be able to walk out over it, with some cracking sounds..

20171230_124406(0)

New York is expensive over Christmas/New Year but it seemed silly to travel all this way and not be there for those events, so I’d booked to be in NYC again for new year then down to DC again before drifting down south – I hadn’t planned any further than that yet.

Took a train to New York and booked into a cheap place with a fantastic gym. Then down to Mighty Quinn’s for a “brontosaurus rib” I’d seen on a television show a few years ago. Vegetarians, better turn away now..

20171231_142505

Slow broiled for 12 hours with one of my favourite spices – smoked paprika - this yuge rib was fall-away tender and well flavoursome as well as yabba dabba do sized.

I’d figured to have a look at the famous and traditional “ball drop” in Times Square for new year’s eve but walking through over 12 hours beforehand I saw barriers set up in small rectangles all around the area. Talking to people, I learned a few things about New Years Eve in Times Square..

Firstly, it’s not just a single big crowd. Barriers are set up into literal ‘pens’ like cattle with grids of corridor space between them. Second, no toilets are provided. Third, leave your spot and you’re unlikely to get it back. Fourth, we’re talking a massive amount of people here so you have to get there about 8 to 12 hours early to get a decent vantage spot Now a number of people have told me that 1+2+3+4 adds up to.. get this.. people wearing adult diapers so they don’t lose their spot.

Now maybe it’s a New Yorker joke for the visitors, but I heard and red about it enough times that I have no intention of ever ringing in the new year in a human cattle pen with a bunch of cold diaper-wearing strangers to watch a ball drop for a socially-constructed arbitrary-moment in time. Hell no.

20171231_231949

So I walked along the side of the festivities on Madison Avenue towards Central Park and got talking with a couple of homeless guys rugged up on a subway vent keeping warm in the minus-12 celcius cold (that’s 10 degrees farenheight).

Then I found a spot to do my writing of new year goals with my yearly cigar but I kept thinking about those guys so went back to give them money they said would get them a room in a shelter. The United States has more of a true homelessness problem than Australia in that there are less social protections and it's harder to climb out of homelessness than Australia which has a vast range of government and private facilities to assist.

Back in December 2017 In Los Angeles, an Uber driver drove me through “skid row” and told me it’s been this way for many years.

I love the USA and I can’t pretend to know the ins and outs of what’s going on, but after this experience it's made me think to get back to volunteering in 2018. I've got some ideas.

New year’s day, I took the Roosevelt Aerial Tram – it reminds me of the Manly Ferry in Sydney in that it’s a great treat of a view while being part of the standard public transport system.

20180101_113818
20180101_114715
20180101_114853

Then it was down to the East Village area near the tip of Manhattan Island where I’d snagged a bargain price on a hotel for the night which had a great view on the roof where I braved the cold to finish both my goals for 2018 and that cigar.

20180101_185426
20180101_185448

Then the next morning a ferry along the East River for a final look at this terrific city..

20180102_115013
20180102_120755

..before jumping onto the F train subway to 34th Street and taking an Amtrak train back to Washington DC.

I visited the Flight 93 memorial at the Pentagon..

20180103_120025

Then, though I’m not one for tours usually, I took a very worthwhile tour through Capitol Hill. The inside of the dome of that building is astonishing from the inside and impossible to even remotely capture in a photograph.

20180103_154110

Had a terrific meal and extended my stay for another day. Was taken to an amazing Italian restaurant for another amazing meal. I really had a beautiful time in Washington DC and it’s cemented my desire to visit there or at least Hawaii before the end of this year.

So now, I've booked a flight out of DC and chose Miami at an incredible bargain price. I have a motorbike organised in Houston and things are looking good.

Happy days, thanks for reading!


bottom of page