top of page

Bendigo to Canberra

Rode out after a good sleep towards Albury/Wodonga on what was a pleasant enjoyable ride with good roads, only to come across Lake Mulwala - completely unexpected, entirely stunning. I was running behind schedule and risking kangaroos by riding into dusk but I had to sit here and take in the atmosphere of this beautiful spot.

Stunning view of Lake Mulwala, VIC/NSW border

I have to return there and camp next to that lake someday.

I rode on to Albury/Wodonga, found a good place and rested well for the night.

Next morning, rode out to Corryong (Hema Peter "The Bear" Theoming ride #53), a beautiful run with easy but enjoyable corners, good surface and great views like below, including the beautiful waterfall I found seemingly out of nowhere.

I rode on to the friendly folk at Tumut (Hema Peter "The Bear" Theoming ride #20), staying overnight before riding onto Canberra.

I've left this blog for nearly a month after riding it before writing about it, so the details and texture of the journey aren't readily available in my mind for me to write about - and a lot has happened since then which has given me a blanket of solemness, so it's a bit of a short summary - I decided to get it done though because in a couple of days I'll be riding to Sydney through some beautiful countryside ACT/NSW scenery after which I plan a ride down into Victoria purely for fun and getting away from it all for a while.


bottom of page